Problems with the accuracy from holes in my 3D Printing

Hey Guys,

i’m really new in 3D printing (bought my Anycubic i3 Mega in december 2018), but i learn very fast. For a special problem, however, I need your help. :wink:

First of all, i did a extruder calibration. I printed a cube with a single wall and set my multiplier in Simplify3D for a nearly perfect 0,4mm thick wall. I printed also a cube for measuring, but when i calibrate it only for 20x20x20mm (toleranz +/- 0,02mm) and printed a larger object (150mm) the accuracy was terrible. So i did a mix for larger and small objects. A 20x20x20mm Cube is (example) 20.03x20.02x19.99mm and over a larger straight about 100mm it is 99.95mm.

BUT…when i printed a 10mm hole within the object, the hole is only 9.80mm. The mesh from my CAD Software (FreeCAD) has a high resolution, so this is not the problem…i hope. :wink:
For a workaround, I could increase the radius of the hole by 0.1mm. But i actually only bought the 3D printer for building Actuators for my Simracing Rig. When printing these components, accuracy is pretty important.

What can I do and why is the accuracy only for holes so “bad” … or is it normal for a printer in this price range?

I print with PLA … I almost forgot to mention.

Thank you in advance, Oliver

0 Likes

That sounds about right, you need to determine the offset you need to apply to get the size hole with the fit you want. Mine is 0.15mm.

0 Likes

Ok, that sounds it is not a problem with my own 3D printer, but a general problem in 3D printing. Is that right? Or, for example, is the accuracy of a Prusa i3 MK3 generally better and does not need an offset for holes by the CAD design?

0 Likes

https://reprap.org/wiki/ArcCompensation

1 Like

@moorviper That is an explanation! :grinning: But to put it in a more simple way, when a slicer creates a path for the extruder, it may do one of three (or more things).

• Extrude on the line.
  • Extrude outside of the line.
  • Extrude inside of the line.